Review: Listen Up! by Haley Reinhart

Image

It has been a long time since I have actually anticipated the arrival of an album, and this time, it is definitely worth the wait! I have been waiting for Haley Reinhart’s album ever since her Idol days, especially after she really found her identity in the later half of the season. She should have won, but I guess America had a different view. Oh well, I am really glad she managed to release an album!

The whole album is sort of retro-sounding, and her vocal performance on the tracks are almost flawless. “Free”, her first single, was sort of stuck in my mind ever since I heard it performed live on Idol.

My only regret is that she probably did not record the album “live”, as in with a band playing at the same time she’s singing. Correct me if I am wrong here, but it does not sound like it. There are so many outstanding tracks on the album, and they are all co-written by Reinhart (with the exception of “Free”).

Being a sucker for ballads, I really love “Undone”, which she sings with simple accompaniment on the piano and strings. Her voice just soars. Other favourites on the album include “Walking on Heaven” and “Wasted Tears”.

“Listen Up!” is like a breath of fresh air amidst all the dance and R&B music that are played massively on the the airwaves in today. What’s even better is that she is a great singer. And she is such a great (sassy) performer as well. For some strange reason she does remind me a bit of Mariah Carey. Well, “Listen Up!” by Haley Reinhart is sure to be one of this year’s best albums. So grab your copy today!

One thought on “Review: Listen Up! by Haley Reinhart

Leave a comment