Favourite Mandopop Albums of 2015

It is just a couple of days to the new year, and I was trying to find the mandopop CDs that I bought this year, which are getting fewer by the year as I begin to stick to singers/ artistes that I like, as opposed to buying albums by newer artistes or artistes who I may like to listen to. That said, I discovered A-Lin this year, and bought my first album of hers, 愛回來 All the Best, a compilation (of such an app title?) from her previous record company . Maybe it is just me, but I find that even though she has been around for some time, she lacks an identity that a great artiste needs and that people can connect to, because it is not enough just being an amazing singer that she is. Anyway, while I do like the compilation, I do not really consider it as an album album, if you get what I mean.

So, my favourites are …

1. Amit2 by 阿密特 Amit
阿密特 Amit2
This is album number 2 by A-Mei 張惠妹’s alter ego, 阿密特 Amit. Originally scheduled to be released late last year, it was brought forward to earlier this year because of A-mei’s perfectionist tendencies, and to coincide with the start of her latest concert tour – Utopia. Anyway, her singing is still great, and the production is top-notch, but at only 10 tracks (with the first track sounding more like an opener instead of a proper track), the album seems a bit short, especially when it has been a 6-year wait. Nevertheless, you would expect nothing short of an amazing album from Amit 2.

 

2. Aphasia by Tanya Chua 蔡健雅
Aphasia
I have to say that Tanya 蔡健雅 is getting better at making records, and her latest album, 失語者Aphasia, is proof. While she veers into a different territory sonically, she manages to achieve successfully what she wanted with the incorporation electronic music/ sounds. I was watching one of her interviews recently where she said she wanted to translate what she felt we are experiencing now socially, and with technology, into music, and with Aphasia, I think she delivered.

Leave a Reply

