5 Favourite Classical Music Discs of 2014

Well I have been listening to a lot more classical music over the past year for some reason. And the more I listen to it, it just seems that I get more hooked on it (and less

So anyway, some of the albums that I really enjoyed are as follows:

1) Something’s Gotta Give, by Simon Keenlyside (with Scarlett Strallen, David Charles Abell and the BBC Concert Orchestra)

Somethingsgottagive

It seems rather weird to begin the list with a not-so-classical choice, especially since it a disc of Broadway songs. Then again, it is said that Broadway music came from the classical genre, and since they are sung by one of my favourite singers, Simon Keenlyside, I had to include this CD in the list. I really like that Keenlyside gets into the character for each song, and portrays them in such a way that you could almost see him acting in such roles when listening to the music. And his American accent…

Some of my favourite tracks on the album include “Reviewing the Situation” from Oliver, and one his duets with Strallen, the closing track “If I Loved You (Beach Scene)” from Carousel. Pop music fans might recognise the tune from “If I Were a Rich Man” from Fiddler on the Roof, which can be found in Gwen Stefani’s “Rich Girl”.

 

2) Prokofiev: Piano Concertos 1 -5, by Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (with Gianandrea Noseda and the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra)

prokofiev

Prior to getting this record, I have only heard many versions of Prokofiev’s Piano Concert No.3, so in a way this set of music introduced me to all the piano concertos by Prokofiev.

 

3) Chopin: Preludes. by Ingrid Fliter

chopinpreludesI am not too sure how many recordings I have of the Chopin Preludes, and as much as I like the performances of them by Nikolai Lugansky, there seems to be something special about this recording.

 

4) Wagner’s Parsifal – Jonas Kaufman, Rene Pape, Peter Mattei, Katarina Dalayman, Evgeny Nikitin, The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus and Ballet, Daniele Gatti. Production by Francois Girard

parsifal

For some weird reason I seem unable to appreciate Wagner’s operas at the moment, but this production of Parsifal was really affecting from the beginning, And the amazing tenor that is Jonas Kaufmann definitely shone in the role of Parsifal.

 

5) Schumann: The Symphonies, by Yannick Nezet-Seguin and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe

schumann

I am not exactly sure where I first heard the Schumann’s symphonies, but I find this set of symphonies to be quite accessible and I really enjoy this version by Yannick Nezet-Seguin and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe because of the setting of a smaller orchestra.

 

Leave a Reply

